Tuesday, December 13, 2011

At long last, All-Big East football team released

This gets to be quite old each year - the release of the Big East All-Conference Football Team comes later and later each season.

This year, 17 days after the last Big East team is knocked out of the playoffs and almost 10 days after the state championships have been completed, the area media finally gets a peek at this year's honored high school football players. 

This announcement has been as drawn out as MLB's season-ending awards - Cy Young, MVP, etc.

Despite finishing in last place, Rocky Mount placed four players on the team (Mason Hines
Nah'jerelle Graves, Rodquez Greene, Darryn Lewis), and two Nash County players took the top individual honors, although Wilson Hunt won the league title.

Wilson Hunt

Josh Joyner
Jacob Page
Trevor Kyle
Nick Denton
Tevin Speight
Tim Applewhite
Vernon Holman
Lamar Melvin
Phil Dickens
Cody Pittman
Luis Neal

Nash Central

Jalen Hendricks
Greg Arrrington
Jarod Richardson
Isiah Edwards
Zach Connor
Jaquan Wilkins
Khalil Macklin
Justin Scott
Tamarris Lane
Jordan Lynch

Wilson Fike

Cam Avery
Sam Ellis
Tyler Newman
Jeremy Vick
Dustin Edwards
Chris Phillips
Josh King

Southern Nash

Josh Sessoms
Tracey Coppedge
Terron Huffman
Alonte Thomas
Molik Harris
Roderick Dunston
Matt Boswell
Moses Trejo

Northern Nash

Darius Perry
Quay Mann
Tevin Marshall
Marquez Farmer
Michael Dickens

Rocky Mount

Mason Hines
Nah'jerelle Graves
Rodquez Greene
Darryn Lewis

Honorable Mention

D'metrius Dew, Wilson Hunt
Justin Williams, Nash Central
Trae Hudson, Wilson Fike
Zack Parris, Southern Nash
Travonne Marshall, Northern Nash
Ben Winstead, Rocky Mount

Big East Offensive Player of the Year - Jalen Hendricks, Nash Central
Big East Defensive Player of the Year - Josh Sessoms, Southern Nash
Big East Coach of the Year - Tom Nelson, Wilson Fike; Kevin Crudup, Nash Central

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Some good players are not on this list. Congrats to all.