Saturday, May 26, 2012

Rocky Mount hosts last Athletic Awards at campus

Rocky Mount's Athletes of the Year Paul Lilley and Tia Hudgins

Rocky Mount High School held its last Athletic Banquet on its current campus Thursday evening and it was a memorable night in the old main gym.

There were several highlights including Michael and Pam Gainey receiving the Dudley Whitley award. Longtime football coach and Athletic Director Walt Wiggins made a rare appearance on campus to present a plaque to one of his former players and coachhes, current Assistant Principal and 1980 RMHS alum Linwood Weeks, who has announced that he will be retiring at the end of the summer.

The boys basketball team also received their rings as a reward for winning the NCHSAA 3-A state championship back in March. For seniors Terrill Hilliard and Tevin Taylor, they join 1997 alum and ex-trackster Nick Winkel, who was an assistant for the boys track team this past spring, who have two state titles on their resumes.

A complete list of all awards winner for the spring, winter and fall seasons is below - 


Female Athlete of the Year - Tia Hudgins
Male Athlete of the Year - Paul Lilley
Female Scholar Athlete of the Year - Caroline Bell
Male Scholar Athlete of the Year - William Crumpler
Juan Chesson Award - Holly Fryar

Varsity Baseball

Most Outstanding Player - Jeremy Johnson
Most Improved - Damian Smith
Coaches' Award - Andy Morris

JV Baseball

Most Valuable - Chandler Clontz
Most Consistent - Caleb Chandler

Boys Golf

Most Consistent - Gardner Noble
Coaches' Award - Dylan Matthews

Girls Soccer

Offensive Player of the Year - Kasey Cooke
Defensive Player of the Year - Tyeisha Hardy
12th Player Award - Kaitlyn Worsley

Varsity Softball

Most Valuable - Precious White
Best Defensive Player - Carmen Richardson
Most Improved - Daiza Brown

JV Softball

Most Valuable Player - Haley Coppedge
Most Improved - Anada Woodley

Boys Tennis

Most Valuable Player - James Smith
Coaches' Award - William Garrison

Boys Track

Most Valuable Player - Paul Lilley
Coaches' Award - Octavis Smith
Coaches' Award - Michael Hines

Girls Track

Co-Most Valuable Player - Savasja Davis
Co-Most Valuable Player - Fantacy Bryant
Most Improved - Takeyra Thomas


Varsity Boys Basketball
Most Improved - Dante Battle
Gryphon Pride Award - Levon Brutus
Most Valuable - Terrill Hilliard

JV Boys Basketball

Coaches Award - Thomas Cooper
Impact Player Award - Aumir Pittman

Varsity Girls Basketball

Coaches Award - Alexus Cooper
Leadership Award - Tia Hudgins
Most Valuable Player - J'Kyra Brown
JV Girls Basketball

Most Dependable - Taquiyah Battle
Most Improved - Treona Bynum

Boys Swimming

Co-Most Valuable Player - Zachary Vestal
Co-Most Valuable Player - Sam Haynes

Girls Swimming

Coaches' Award - Rebecca Pridgen
Coaches' Award - Alex Whicker

Boys Indoor Track

Most Valuable Player - Paul Lilley
Coaches' Award - Retho Williams
Coaches' Award - Rodie Shambley

Girls Indoor Track

Coaches' Award - Savasja Davis


Coaches Award - Janicento Williamson
Most Improved - Elliott Whitehead
Most Outstanding Wrestler- Alex Knight

Varsity Cheerleading

Coaches Award - Ami Thai
Coaches Award - Chelsea Brown
Most Dedicated - Brandy Pittman
Best All-Around - Alexsis Bryant

JV Cheerleading

Best All-Around - Brittany Collins


Varsity Football

Offensive MVP - Mason Hines
Defensive MVP - Rodquez Greene
Coaches' Award - Delasio Bartley
Billy Smith Award - Ben Winstead

JV Football

Offensive MVP - Josh Carter
Defensive MVP - Keyaad Coley


MVP - Tia Hudgins
Coaches' Award - Evie Hunter
Coaches Award - Precious White

JV Volleyball

Coaches' Award - Takia Draughn
Most Improved - Bailey Smith

Girls Tennis

MVP - Mackenzie Warner
Coaches  Award - Caroline Bell

Boys Cross Country

MVP - Mason Holt
Coaches' Award - Tyler Strother
Most Improved - Kathan Bender

Girls Cross Country

MVP - Nefertiti Thigpen-Conyers
Coaches' Award - Autumn Pilgreen
Most Improved - Grayson Hicks

Boys Soccer

Blue/Gold Award - Matt Boudreau
Coaches' Award - Gardner Noble
Gryphon Award - Logan Barnes

Girls Golf

Most Consistent - Ali Martin
Most Improved - Ashleigh Matia
Coaches' Award - Bailey Lewis