Saturday, December 22, 2007

AP selects West Charlotte's Thomas

The Associated Press has voted West Charlotte quarterback Darius Thomas as the N.C. High School Football Player of the Year for 2007.

Were you aware that only one Rocky Mount area player has won that award since its inception in 1983?

North Edgecombe's Milton Shaw did the trick in 1991.
And I was priviledged to hand him the AP plaque (in the shape of the state of N.C. ) that year during a halftime ceremony of a basketball game at North Edgecombe in January 1992. I was representing the then-called Rocky Mount Evening Telegram with the presentation.
Here is a list of all the fine athletes over the years who have won the award. See if you remember some of them:
2007--Darius Thomas, QB, West Charlotte
2006--Quan Warley, RB, Thomasville
2005--Quan Warley, RB, Thomasville
2004--Joe Cox, QB, Charlotte Independence
2003--Andre Brown, RB, Greenville Rose
2002--Chris Leak, QB, Charlotte Independence
2001--T.A. McLendon, RB, Albemarle
2000--Chris Leak, QB, Charlotte Independence
1999--Manny Deshauteurs, RB, Brevard
1998--Nick Maddox, RB, Kannapolis Brown
1997--Nick Maddox, RB, Kannapolis Brown
1996--Montrell Coley, RB, Goldsboro
1995--Marcus Reaves, RB, Fayetteville Byrd
1994--Terence Stokes, RB, Bunn
1993--Ernest Tinnin, QB, Burlington Cummings
1992--(tie) Antoine Ikard, RB, Maiden; Maurice Mebane, WR, Burlington Cummings
1991--Milton Shaw, RB, North Edgecombe
1990--Donnie Davis, QB, Burlington Cummings
1989--Mike Thomas, QB-P, Richmond County
1988--Chuckie Burnette, QB, Burlington Cummings
1987--Anthony Barbour, RB, Garner
1986--Robert Siler, RB, Siler City Jordan-Matthews
1985--Alvin Baker, RB, Claremont Bunker Hill
1984--Todd Ellis, QB, Greensboro Page
1983--Darryl McGill, RB, Southern Durham