Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Gryphon makes Hall of Fame

Rocky Mount High School graduate Howard McCullough ('72) was inducted last Saturday into the Louisburg College Athletic Hall of Fame. McCullough played baseball for the Hurricanes in the 1970s, and was a star catcher for Jerry Carter during his Gryphon playing days. He currently lives in Greenville and is a scout for Major League Baseball’s Arizona Diamondbacks. In the above photo, McCullough gives his acceptance speech. (Photo/Geoff Neville)

New No. 1 Tarboro to host SW Edgecombe Friday

It took the end of the nation's longest current high school football winning streak for it to happen, but a Twin Counties' football team has reached the No. 1 spot in the weekly Associated Press poll.

It's defending 2-A state champion Tarboro. The Vikings, who have been in the Top five all season, were voted to the No. 1 spot after defending 2-AA state champion and previous No. 1 Reidsville saw its nation-leading 55-game winning streak end last Friday with a 28-7 loss at home to Burlington Cummings. A few weeks ago, then No. 3 Tarboro leap frogged SouthWest Edgecombe in the polls when the Cougars were upset by Kinston. The Reidsville loss made the Vikings No.1.

Now can the Vikes, who got to that spot despite close calls with Northern Nash and Greene Central, keep that spot with No. 6 and all-time rival SouthWest coming to town this Friday night? 

If you thought getting into last year's clash at SWE was tough, can you imagine the traffic jams at Howard Ave. and U.S. 64 Alt. Friday afternoon? I can't emphasize it enough - get there real early and tailgate! Tarboro leads their all-time series 22-11.

With Rocky Mount coming home for the first time in five weeks with its Homecoming date with its longest all-time rival Wilson Fike, I just wish I could be in two places at one time just once this Friday.

Associated Press 2-A Football Poll - released Tuesday for Week 10

1. Tarboro (10) (8-0) 125 2
2. Lincolnton (1) (8-0) 114 3
3. Thomasville (2) (8-0) 106 4
4. Boonville Starmount (8-0) 78 5
5. Newton-Conover (8-0) 63 7
6. SouthWest Edgecombe (8-1) 59 6
7. Reidsville (7-1) 47 1
8. South Iredell (8-0) 40 9
9. Burlington Cummings (8-1) 37 NR
10. Polk County (7-1) 16 10