Wednesday, December 15, 2010

2010 All-Big East Football Teams released

WILSON - To the winner goes the spoils. The old adage really held true when the Big East Conference All-Conference football team was released this week. Co-champions Northern Nash and Wilson Hunt got the lion's share of the honorees.

Eleven Knights received first place notices from the league as did 11 Wilson Hunt players. In Nash County, Southern Nash was voted eight spots on the team, while Nash Central also got eight. Rocky Mount, which won just one league game, was awarded six.

Wilson Fike, which did not win a conference contest for the second straight season and recently saw its second-year head coach Kim Brown relieved of his duties, got four positions.

For the first time in recent memory, three brothers on the same team were selected. The Marshall siblings from Northern Nash all received first-team nods - fullback T.J on offense, and defensive standouts Travonne and Tevin on defense. Travonne was also voted as one of three players who shared Defensive Player of the Year honors with Southern Nash's Brandon Jones and Wilson Hunt's Spencer Miller.

The league's Offensive Player of the Year award went to Wilson Hunt's do-everything player Tyrell Vinson.

Conference Coach of the Year was given to Northern Nash's Mickey Crouch and Hunt's Randy Raper.



Northern Nash - T.J. Marshall, Rashad Hedgepeth, Mitchell Wells, Rob Richwalski, Tavis Richardson
Wilson Hunt - Caleb Driver, Tyrell Vinson, Brandon Cambra, Jacob Page, Gilbert Niez, Qwenterrius Ballard
Southern Nash - Tracey Coppedge, Trendell Lynch, Terron Huffman, Tony Williams
Nash Central - Jalen Hendricks, Keiffer Griffin, Greg Arrington, Dequan Battle
Rocky Mount - Rodquez Greene, Damien Strickland, Connor Daughtridge
Wilson Fike - Chris Phillips, Danzell Liles


Northern Nash - Travonne Marshall, Tevin Marshall, Brandon Dawes, Quan Silver, Donovan Cooper, Tay Payton
Wilson Hunt - Josh Bullock, Tim Applewhite, Lewis Neal, Spencer Miller, Brice Parker
Southern Nash - Brandon Jones, Aaron McFarland, Alkeem Thomas, Josh Sessoms
Nash Central - Jeffrey Lucas, Mason Wallace, Letovis Davis, Chris Bullock
Rocky Mount - Nah'jerrelle Graves, Miguel Valdez, Darryn Lewis
Wilson Fike - Adonte Anderson, Tyler Newman


Northern Nash - Jamaal Boddie
Wilson Hunt - Phillip Collier
Southern Nash - Jacob Jones
Nash Central - Marquis Thomas
Rocky Mount - Mason Hines
Wilson Fike - Cameron Avery


Offense - Tyrell Vinson, Wilson Hunt
Defense - Spencer Miller, Wilson Hunt; Travonne Marshall, Northern Nash; Brandon Jones, Southern Nash


Mickey Crouch, Northern Nash; Randy Raper, Wilson Hunt

No comments: