Thursday, June 7, 2012

Bell, Browder lead Big East All-Conference squad, both named All-State

Sydney Browder
Caroline Bell

To the winners go the spoils.

Rocky Mount won the 2012 Big East Conference regular season girls soccer title. With that win came six All-Conference first-team selections - including Offensive Player of the Year Sydney Browder and Co-Defensive Player of the Year Caroline Bell.

Browder, a junior midfielder and Bell, a senior defender, were also selected to the N.C. Soccer Coaches Association's 3-A All-State Team - a first not only for Rocky Mount, but for Nash County as well.

Gryphon players also voted to the first team were junior forward Kasey Cooke, senior forward Lauren Smith, senior defender Brittany Kropp and junior goalkeeper Tyisha Hardy. RMHS freshman defender Emily Vick was an honorable mention selection.

Rocky Mount head coach Andrew Nick was Conference Coach of the Year. Nick also received the honor of being the NCSCA's Region 3 Coach of the Year.

2012 Big East All-Conference
Girls Soccer Team

First Team
• Kasey Cooke, Rocky Mount
• Sydney Browder, Rocky Mount
• Caroline Bell, Rocky Mount
• Lauren Smith, Rocky Mount
• Brittany Kropp, Rocky Mount
• Tyisha Hardy, Rocky Moun
• Gillian Dillard, Wilson Fike
• Sophia Carter, Wilson Fike
• Somer Jones, Wilson Fike
• Laura Bland, Wilson Fike
• Carly Ferrell, Wilson Fike
• McKenzie Blackwell, Wilson Hunt
• Madison Blackwell, Wilson Hunt
• Megan Raper, Wilson Hunt
• Danielle Wilson, Wilson Hunt
• Claire Fleming, Northern Nash
• Alexus Hill, Northern Nash
• Natalie DePalma, Northern Nash
• Abigail Ross, Nash Central
• Vanessa Batchelor, Nash Central
• Laney Ezzell, Southern Nash
• Tori Parker, Southern Nash

Honorable Mention

• Emily Vick, Rocky Mount

• Megan Boswell, Wilson Fike
• Allison Strickland, Wilson Hunt
• Chandler Pierce, Northern Nash
• Briana Eley, Nash Central
• Desiree Perry, Southern Nash 

Offensive Player of the Year - Sydney Browder, Rocky Mount
Co-Defensive Player of the Year - Caroline Bell, Rocky Mount
Co-Defensive Player of the Year - Sophia Carter, Wilson Fike
Conference Coach of the Year -  Andrew Nick

No comments: